top of page

The Lincolnshire County Cricket League

The Lincolnshire County Cricket League is an amateur club cricket competition in Lincolnshire, England. It is a feeder for the Lincolnshire Premier League, an ECB Premier League.


The league is made up of 5 divisions and is open to all cricket clubs in Lincolnshire, although clubs in the south of the county can play in the South Lincs and Border Cricket League.

The competition started in 1963 as a way of merging all of the local Saturday cricket leagues from around the Lincolnshire county. Originally as just one division the first winners were Ross Sports Cricket Club. The league then expanded into two divisions in 1968, three in 1971 and four in 1972. In 1996 the league restructured to bring in 2nd XI clubs that were playing in more friendly leagues at the time such as the Humberside Alliance cricket league, this brought the total of divisions to five (three 1st XI divisions, two 2nd XI Divisions).

In 1999 as part of the full ECB Restructuring of cricket leagues in England and introduction of county premier leagues the league went through a full restructuring process. The 1st XI and 2nd Xi divisions were merged into one full five division structure and the Lincolnshire Premier League was formed by taking the top five teams from the premier division of the Lincolnshire League and the South Lincs and Border league.

In 2001 the Humberside Alliance league officially folded and the remaining teams created Division 5 which brought the number of leagues in the competition to six. Due to the loss of teams the league went back to five divisions after only four seasons.

Cleethorpes Cricket Club and Grimsby Town Cricket club were the dominating sides in the early years of the competition with the premier league won by one of those teams 14 times in the first 20 years, In 1983 Cleethorpes took the decision to resign from the Lincolnshire league to play in the Yorkshire Cricket league citing a need to play better opposition. In 1993 Appleby and Frodingham Cricket Club also quit the Lincolnshire league to join the Yorkshire league. The late 1980s and 1990s saw a change at the top of the premier league with teams in Scunthorpe starting to win the league more with Normanby Park, Messingham, Alkborough and Belton cricket clubs all winning the division for the first time.

The restructuring of the leagues at the turn of the millennium brought new teams to the top of the premier league with Owmby, Nettleham, Bracebridge Heath and Haxey all winning the title for the first time with each team promoted to the Lincolnshire Premier League for the following season.

For the 2018 season the league adopted 30 over format for the bottom two divisions as part of the ECB directive to get more people playing club cricket.

There are also three cup competitions played in the county. The George Marshall Cup is for the 1st XI sides, The Bob Welton cup for 2nd XI sides and the Supplementary cup for teams in the lower divisions.

League Winners

Premier League

Division 1

Division 2

Division 3

Division 4

Individual Records

bottom of page